How to delete messages on Snapchat

How to delete messages on Snapchat

Snapchat creators try to provide maximum user privacy and to achieve this, they use not only advanced data encryption algorithms but also add new features. After the last update, the Snapchat Chats and Snaps are deleted automatically. But what to do when you accidentally sent a poor photo or message to wrong people? Here’s a step-by-step guide on how to delete unwanted Snapchat messages.

When does Snapchat delete my snaps and messages?

All Snapchat servers are designed to delete all your activities by default. Snaps and messages will be deleted once they were opened. Unopened snaps and chats will be cleared after 24 hours. The Snaps you add to your Story will be deleted after 24 hours too. However, you can delete the Snap from Story anytime you want.

If you don’t want your chats to be deleted, you can easily save a chat. Press and hold the needed chat until it appears on a gray background, and you can press-and-hold on it again to delete at any time.

The only section that can’t be cleared in Snapchat automatically is Memories. Memories section keeps the photos and Stories you save. If you delete a Snap from your Memories, Snapchat servers will erase that Snap as soon as possible.

If you mostly like to use Snappables, then be more attentive. The Snapchat servers don’t delete saved Snappables, so when a friend receives a Snappable from you and saves it or shares it with others they can sometimes stay around for a longer period of time. For example, if a recipient saves the Snappable to Memories, then it will still exist in there until that user deletes it by himself.

How to delete unwanted Snaps and Chats?

A large list of friends and active communication often end up with incorrect messages or photos and video snaps sent to incorrect recipients. You can delete these snaps and messages almost immediately and make sure the addressee didn’t view them yet! So, how to delete an unread message in the Snapchat?

Follow this easy guide:

  1. Open the Snapchat;

  2. Open your chats;

  3. Select the needed message;

  4. Press and hold it;

  5. Select Delete option.

That’s it! You just saved your Snapchat reputation. For a group chat the algorithm remains the same. The recipient won’t receive anything but the notification about the deleted Snap or Chat. If the Snap wasn’t opened up to 30 days, it will be deleted by the Snapchat server automatically.

It’s better to be more attentive next time you send a Snap or Chat to a friend. In order to keep your privacy safe, just clean your history regularly.